[Jump to start of article]

Home > Test Plans > 5. Features Not To Be Tested

5. Features Not To Be Tested

There are three key sections for defining the SCOPE of a Test Plan: 3. Test Items, 4. Features to be Tested, and 5. Features not to be Tested.

Within "5. Features Not To Be Tested" you define which of the features of the system or sub-system will NOT be testing. This is necessary so as to avoid later confusion when stakeholders thought something would be tested, but was not.

Sample Text for 5. Features Not To Be Tested

An example for a Library Management System is:

Item Being Tested Business Scenarios NOT Being Tested
Borrowers sub-system Maintaining the user records
The circulation sub-system Setting up of holiday dates
The catalogue sub-system Assigning loan periods

Other Articles on SCOPE

SCOPE is one of the five aspects of a test plan. Other articles on it are: